Admin

Counseling Center

ASUHBULUUHPVSFAEMUUHCL

HBU

LU

UH

PV

SFA

EMU

UHCL

Counseling Center Mission

 

The counseling department at PHS strives to offers a variety of services to meet the needs of students.  Available services include, but are not limited to:  Individual planning, career guidance, college application guidance, financial aid & scholarship information, guidance in high school course selection and schedules,  solution focused individual counseling, small group counseling, community resource referrals, credit recovery options, and so much more.  

Through the building of professional relationships, we believe we can empower diverse individuals, families, and groups to achieve mental health, wellness, education goals and career goals.  

The Counseling Center Team


Personnel Assignment Email 

Mary Ames

Class of 2024 Counselor

MAmes@pasadenaisd.org

Lauren Lunsford Baugh

Class of 2023 Counselor

LLunsford@pasadenaisd.org

Lezli Real

Class of 2022 Counselor

LReal@pasadenaisd.org

Edward Ricco

Class of 2021/Lead Counselor

ERicco@pasadenaisd.org

Charlotte Hebert

Transitions Counselor

CHebert@pasadenaisd.org

Pileirol Retta 

ESL/LEP Counselor 

PRetta@pasadenaisd.org

Jennifer Owens

PECHS Counselor 

JOwens1@pasadenaisd.org 

Edgar Garcia

College Advisor with Advise Texas

 EGarcia4@pasadenaisd.org

Rumalda Rivera

College Now 

RRivera@pasadenaisd.org 

Marisol Barron

Counselor Secretary 

MBarron@pasadenaisd.org

Vilma Garcia

Counselor Secretary 

ViGarcia@pasadenaisd.org                         

Karen Guzman

College Now Secretary 

KeGuzman@pasadenaisd.org 

Beatriz Munoz

PECHS Secretary 

BeMunoz@pasadenaisd.org

Maria Rivera

Registrar 

MRivera4@pasadenaisd.org

Marlene Varela

Registrar Assistant 

MVarela1@pasadenaisd.org

Ashley Herrera

 San Jacinto College

Outreach Advisor

Ashley.Herrera@sjcd.edu


 

October is Bullying Prevention Month

Bullying is when someone hurts or scares another person repeatedly.


Bullying includes:

 

  • Calling someone hurtful and derogatory names
  • Spreading lies and bad rumors about someone
  • Being mean and teasing someone
  • Hitting, punching, shoving, spitting and physically hurting someone
  • Social exclusion or isolation ... not including someone is a group
  • Getting certain kids or teens to "gang up" on others
  • Having money or other things taken or damaged
  • Being threatened or being forced to do things

Bullying also can happen on-line or electronically.  Cyberbullying is when kids or teens bully each other using the Internet, mobile phones or other cyber technology.  This can include:

 

  • Sending mean text, e-mail, or instant messages
  • Posting nasty pictures or messages about others in blogs or on Web sites
  • Using someone else's user name to spread rumors or lies about someone
  • Stealing someone's password and spreading rumors about someone else making it seem like that person is the Cyberbully

What You can do to Help: 


Don't be afraid to involve an adult.  Reporting and involving an adult isn't tattling!  You are helping someone.

Who should you involve and report the concern to?

You could involve your parents, teacher, school counselor, school nurse, principalcoach or any adult you trust.  Be sure to report exactly what happened: who was bullied, who the bully was, where and when it happened.  Even if you suspect a kid is being bullied, it's a good idea to report that, too.  Most adults really do care about bullying and will be glad that you told them about it.

If you involve an adult and you don't think they are doing anything about the bullying or if the situation isn't improving, keep going and report to another adult.  Keep reporting and involving adults until someone does something to help.

See Something, Say Something.




September is Suicide Awareness Month


How you can help...

It is important to be aware of possible warning signs and to talk someone  when you or someone you know is in need of help. As a friend, classmate, family member, or  neighbor you can help by  simply opening up and reaching out. By honestly and openly expressing your concerns, you can send an important message that you care and understand.

Contact you academic counselor to set up a meeting date and time to Talk, Listen, and be Cared For.  We are here for you.
Who to Contact at PHS:


Class of 2024 --- Ms. Ames at MAmes@pasadenaisd.org
Class of 2023 --- Mrs. Lunsford Baugh at LLunsford@pasadenaisd.org
Class of 2022 --- Mrs. Real at LReal@pasadenaisd.org
Class of 2021 --- Mr. Ricco at ERicco@pasadenaisd.org
PECHS ALL     --- Ms. Owens at JOwens1@pasadenaisd.org
Transition        --- Mrs. Hebert at CHebert@pasadenaisd.org
LEP                      --- Mrs. Retta at PRetta@pasadenaisd.org

Email us to request a meeting session:
Virtual, Distanced F2F, and Phone sessions offered.


National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

Hours: Available 24 hours. Languages: English, Spanish.

1-800-273-8255


Warning Signs:

The following factors may increase the risk of suicide or attempted suicide. However, these risk factors do not always lead to a suicide.

  • Depression and other mental disorders, or a substance-abuse disorder (often combined with other mental disorders)
  • Feeling hopeless and worthless
  • Previous suicide attempt(s)
  • Physical illness
  • Feeling detached and isolated from friends, peers and family
  • Family history of suicide, mental illness, or depression
  • Family violence, including physical or sexual abuse
  • Access to a weapon in the home
  • Knowing someone with suicidal behavior, such as a family member, friend , or celebrity
  • Coping with being gay (homosexuality) in an unsupported family, community, or hostile school environment
  • Incarceration (time in prison)